Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

sorry I'm not a breeder - but I do need urgent advice - and this is the best looking forum I found. I am a teacher - andt this morning one of my pupils brought in a little gray mouse in a tiny cage (looks like the one I put my hamster in when I clean him out) with no food or water - she asked if I could take care of him as her dad would not let her keep him any more.

His name is Moomin and I think he's about 12 weeks old. I have given him a spare hamster bed, water, food and some chew sticks and I'll buy a bigger cage tomorrow - but I don't know how much room they need?

Also he bites at the moments - I don't think he's ever been handled - whats the best way to start?

Also - one of his eyes looks just a little crusty, although it is now fully open - what should I do? All advise greatfully recived - sorry for gate crashes a breeders site!!!

Rachel

·
Premium Member
3,106 Posts
If you are trying to tame the mouse (i.e. he is scared of you at the moment) then a big cage may make things worse for now. He will be able to run and hide and stay out of your way when you try to pick him up. If possible, I'd say give him a medium sized cage for now and upgrade to a bigger one when you have more trust built up. It doesn't have to be expensive - you can modify a storage type box pretty easily with some 5mm wire mesh, or keep an eye out for old fish tanks on Freecycle (Craigslist in the US?) and/or Ebay. Is he actually biting (drawing blood) or giving warning nips (not breaking the skin)?

·
Premium Member
5,254 Posts