Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was talking about my Recessive Brindles on the funmouse(mistake I know) and was told that I cant have brindles that are recessive based becouse the markings would be too light or not there at all.
Ive been working with Recessive birndles for several months now.
In my first few breedings my markings were very light and in most cases they were unmarked, but I've been breeding the darker marked ones together have gotten good results. I posted that and was still told that its not possible. I would hate to think that Ive worked all this months and Ive been misleading myself the whole time.

I still have alot of work to do on them,but my goal is to breed healthier brindles.
I cull heavily on them.
I do have awhole other line of brindles, but they are Avy.

Some of my brindles:

Unmarked:

Avy brindle:

·
Premium Member
1,436 Posts
There's still a big difference between the recessive brindles and the Avy one, but I think you're off to a great start. I know next to nothing about genetics or anything, but to more I know, the more I learn that Mother Nature is snickering at us behind her hand, and still has a few cards up her sleeve when it comes to genetics.

·
Registered
2,974 Posts
There are no recessive brindles in the mouse fancy. The Fun Mouse was right in this case.

There are two basic kinds of brindle:

Avy/* (seen in Australia and the US). This is dominant and creates a red/gold mouse with brown/black stripes usually. These brindles can be either sex and often get fat and have tumors.

Sex-linked brindle (I do not know the gene code for this one). These are always female and this is also dominant.

A mouse who is recessive yellow (e/e) and brindle (Avy/*) is pure yellow/gold/red, with no stripes, like this one:

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I know brindles cant be recessive, but Ive been working with recessive yellows and adding brindle to it.