Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, first of all, this may be a little gruesome and talking about death. And long. Sorry.

I've been keeping mice for a couple of years now. I've had mostly does, and had no real problems with their health for the most part, until late last year. They are all from pet shops.

So I started with 4 does, and all of these lived long lives and were seemingly healthy. Then I introduced 2 more does after losing one of old age. After only 2 months, one of the new 2 does randomly died. It was upsetting but I thought well, maybe she just had something... wrong with her?

The other 3 older does all died of old age as well, from what I can tell. They looked normal and like they died peacefully in their sleep and had lived a good long life.

But before my last doe from the original 4 passed away, I became worried about how the other younger doe (Cream) would be on her own so I introduced two more.

This is when things got a little... odd?
The two new mice were lovely, I named them Sushi and Hazel. Then one day, maybe just under a month, Sushi didn't come up to the cage bars like normal. On further inspection she was on the shelf, dead, but not just dead... she appeared as if she'd been squashed. There was NOTHING that could've fallen on her to make her look like that, so I didn't understand at all.

At this point I had Cream and Hazel. Cream was getting older at this point too. Then, my stupid self leaves my door open and the cat gets in. Have no idea what happens but I'm downstairs then I hear a massive crash from the room, and the cat racing downstairs. I come up and my cage is on the floor, not only that but a huge dent in the bar definitely big enough for any mouse and Hazel is totally missing from the cage. Cream seems shaken but otherwise ok. I lay out humane mouse traps but never caught her.