Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
356 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is a video of Pongo

I am a complete newb when it comes to the genetics and all that colouring and varieties jazz. From looking around the forum I guess he's considered a broken black? His girlfriend, Purty looks the same as him so I'm gonna guess that whatever he is considered, she is as well. Although I did not purchase them from the same place :roll:

Thanks in advance :p I'm just curious to know. I'm expecting to have a litter from them in a couple of weeks. So what can I expect to get from them? I know it's going to all depend what's in their genetics but any guesses? Probably look like their mother and father maybe some plain whites? I'm just hoping none of them have red eyes... It freaks me out! :lol:

Thanks again guys. :D

·
Registered
356 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Rhasputin
I'm not sure what happened but when I got him, it was like that. It has healed a lot since. My guess is that he's gotten into a fight with another mouse because he is also missing a toe and it looks like he has been bitten on his belly because he has a little patch of missing fur.

·
Registered
3,017 Posts
Alrighty. If you think it's a bite, that's okay. But if it's kinked, it could be a genetic problem. Keep an eye out in your litter, and make sure none of the babies have kinked tails or missing toes or anything weird like that.

He looks like a broken black to me. :)

·
Registered
356 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Rhasputin
Yeah it's definitely not a kink because there's a scab there =/ Up close you can tell another mouse beat him up pretty bad. At the store they had him in the back by himself to let his tail heal. But thank you!!

·
Premium Member
359 Posts
Looks like he had it rough! Good thing you have him now so he can't get anymore injuries! (Looks like his tail tip has long since been bitten off too and well-healed).