Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:D

Hi all, i just thought that i would join in to try to better my knowlage of mice and genetics..
I have been breeding mice for about 5/6 years now and have been mainly breeding random fancy mice with show lines thrown in to keep the health and size up.
I have had loads of fun breeding random litters which i have found tought me quite a bit about genetics and how some of them work, but now i would like to breed for type.. and maybe even show some and win a rossette or two :D ( if i can get good)

I reconise some of your names and some of you i have met already..
On the reptiles forums I am ladyboid ( thought i better use a different name on here as people sometimes think i must be a ladyboy if they dont know what "boid" is lol..its the family of constrictors in snakes)

I have a few lines of mice I would really like to work on..
these include satins ( in creams and stones .. althought i belive that stone is not shown ??)
Rump whites (not sure wether to do these in one colour or a few colours)
reds (got to love ginger mice :D )
tans
and abyssinian mice......

but I still cant help myself and want to do lots of others but i guess to get good you need to stuck to fewer types?

anyway thats it for now ... I will get some pics up soon..

·
Premium Member
3,106 Posts
Hi Kelly (think I have the right name there?) and welcome to the forum. I am guessing your rumpwhites descend from the ones Kat had from me a few years ago now. What colours do you keep at the moment? You'd have to breed a lot to show regularly. And you are correct, you can't show stones. Abyssinians are unstandardised, so they can't be shown either.

·
Registered
687 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi there

yep I am kelly although i am not sure who you are from your user name? lol :oops: