Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I am new to showing and am trying to understand what all the different faults look like so they can be avoided/limited when choosing which of a litter to keep for breeding. I suspect that there are others out there that are potential showers that would also like to know what to look for. It is all very well saying "go to a show and talk to the experts", which I suspect we will all do at some time or another, but it would also be nice to know what to look for in the mean time.
Is there a group of you out there in the forum that have some pictures of these faults, like belly lines, ear set etc that would be willing to post them so that we have a better idea of what to avoid?

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was thinking general faults, so that they apply to every variety, but of course I didn't think of that till you mentioned it :oops: but I would imaging that specific breed faults would be very interesting and useful for the rest of the forum as well. But general faults is a good place to start for beginners like me. :D Thanks for the question Cait

·
Premium Member
3,106 Posts
Variety-specific faults...
For example:
These are well marked rumpwhite babies, but two have colour on their tails, which is a fault.

Headspots in bandeds are not uncommon but they are a fult (this is a pet quality mouse)

General faults...

Example 1: Cream (show quality) next to pet mouse, both does. You can see the difference in size and type clearly, the tails are good examples - like rope vs string.

Nick in the ear (minor fault but it will stop the mouse going further). If this happens use the mouse for breeding if it is otherwise sound.

Kink in the tail (this one is one of the more obvious ones I have seen)

Folded ears

Pearl with a narrow head

Hope these help for a start.

·
Registered
374 Posts