Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
112 Posts
One method is squirting around the shoulders and lower back so the mouse will lick themselves clean, which makes them ingest the medicine.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I'm actually very new to mice but have owned rats for over 10 years. While I've read this doesn't work for many, all of mine happy eat up their meds if I get them in pill form, mix up the desired concentration using strawberry syrup, and mix their dose into fresh mashed banana. So far, this has worked for my past 7 rats with all but the worst tasting medicine (chlorpalm was the only one they wouldn't eat), and both of my rescue mice are eating their antibiotics as treats as well. I also recently made homemade vegan coconut "whipped cream" from a can of coconut milk, some sugar and vanilla, and that is working great as well.

I've had horrible luck trying to syringe feed mine. The rats all let the meds dribble out and wiped them on the ground, the mouse I simply couldn't get a scruff on, let alone get the syringe safely in without risk of aspiration.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you this has been really helpful. I tried squirting the antibiotics around her shoulders and i'm seeing improvement as she cleans herself, so thank you :). I would try making treats out of it but the vet only gave me the liquid form and my mice are finicky eaters. But I will use that techniqu if any of my other rodents need meds. :)

·
Registered
9 Posts