Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Where do I start! I don't actually have any mice atm, but hope to have some in the near future as pets to start with, then perhaps to show and breed when I decide what variety I would like to work with. I discovered this site whilst looking for info on keeping mice and have e-mailed the NMC for an application form for membership and will join as soon as the form arrives. I hope you don't mind if I lurk, read and occasionally ask stupid questions, as I am new to the mouse fancy, and want to do the best for my mice when they arrive. Although I have little/no knowledge of mice, I do have rats and have been breeding them for over 10 years, but I am quite sure that the genetics, care, showing, illnesses etc is very different from a rat.
Anyway enough of my waffle for now, thanks for reading.

·
Registered
293 Posts
Hiya Lian nice to see you here its a lovely forum and very friendly indeed also lots of beautiful mice for sale in that section

Welcome
Juliet x

·
Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Hi Lisa
Markings on mice WOW. All I need to do now is create the gene for rump white for a rat :cool: I don't somehow think that rumpwhite is something a new mouse person should be looking to breed :eek:
For those of you who don't know me, all my rats are marked, I breed hooded, variegated and striped roan.

·
Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
I think baby steps are needed first, before I look at marked mice. Lisa has said I may have a couple from her as pets,that will give me an idea on how I find keeping them. Hopefully I will have a cream and a stone I know they aren't conceived yet but I can't wait.

·
Premium Member
5,254 Posts
I started with marked because I like them and my enthusiasm hasn't diminished several years later despite the ups and downs.Having something you like is just as important as experience and marked are never boring.

·
Registered