Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys. I'm Craig, i'm 24 and from Saltaire in West Yorkshire. Currently keep pet mice, not breeding, but plan to start soon. At the moment I have 3 does; Jerry who is about 18 months, Maisy (8 weeks-ish) & Minnie (6 weeks-ish) - recently aquired the latter two to keep Jerry company after her room mate, Mrs Jingles, died. All pet shop bought, would quite like to souce my next lot of mice from a local breeder so I have a bit more of an idea of history for when I start breeding.

·
Registered
336 Posts
Hello Craig, WELCOME TO THE FORUM

Mrs Jingles!!! thats great lol i am currently reading the green mile.

Your find know finer hobby than that of breeding and exhibiting fancy mice, if you are just wishing to breed as a hobbyist i would recommend getting some new stock to start breeding from and keep your girls as pets. Stock can be sorced easily from this forum or if there is a varity in perticular that you would like to start breeding someone one here can point you in the right direction. Make sure you look into mouse breeding before you start doing it, like feeding housing etc being prepared for litters of anything up to 20. Think about what you plan to do with spare stock, do you have a local pet shop or are you happy with culling? There is a lot to think about but the rewards are great! Plus i wont be the only 24 year old mouse fancier then :D:D:D

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello to you too. I've yet to read the book, but I love the film - unfortunetly I was unable to train her to retrieve a cotton reel but she was an excellent pet none the less.

Is your name a nod to the book? I recently saw a stage version which was excellent.