Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I will start by saying this. I feel AWFUL. I knew that my female was due any day now, and I didn't check on her this morning. I don't know if she's been dealing with this all day, or if it only happened recently. I knew I should have checked on her, but I got so caught up with doing everything else around the house... -sigh-

Anyways, this is my first attempt at breeding mice, and I was very excited by this.

I put my male and female together on July 22nd. I forgot to write down the day that I seperated them, but I realize it was a bit premature... could that be the cause? I'm still very new to this. They were probably together about a week, if not a tiny bit more.

Today is day 24 from first introduction. So she should be close to, if not at full gestation, correct?

I found her this evening, around 6:00pm, with three dead babies. All of them were half eaten.

My biggest concern is that there were only 3. If this was full term and she simply killed them, shouldn't there be more? How can I tell if she's still got more to come? What should I do, now?

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
I just had a doe give birth to only 4 babies and there was no more.
Depending on which day she took, she should of been at full gestation.
Sorry for your loss

·
Registered
3,017 Posts
She may have eaten the others. She might just be a nervous mother. I've had a doe eat an entire litter, but have several others completely successfully. Sometimes they know something better than us. :/

·
Registered
513 Posts