Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
I recently got a male mouse from a small pet shop in my area. He is a year old, and the pet shop had to get rid of him after he found his way into the female cage and impregnated 8 females. After hearing this story my girlfriend just had to have him haha. This is all i really know about him. I will attach pictures and if anyone can tell me anything about him i would be thrilled. Thanks

Boymouse2.jpg

Attachments

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Please correct me if I'm wrong, I'm still new to all of this. I noticed that Angelmouse referred to the color of boy mouse as a black broken marked, and Miss-Freak-Of-Nature referred to it as banded black. While doing research on genetics i noticed that broken is a recessive trait, while banded is a dominant trait. None of boy mouses offspring came out banded or marked. Would this indicate that he is a broken marked? If he was a banded it seems as though some of the babies would of been banded? Being new to this, I could be completely wrong in my logic.

·
Registered
721 Posts
Some one like Mousebreeder should be able to help you with this one.
I called him a Black broken marked as he is black with broken patches of white, although he does have a band he also has the broken coat which in my personal view out ways the band. You can get alot of mice who have a band but also have a broken coat at the same time. I think that if the band goes all the way round the body and has no other white or just a tiny amount like a dash on its head then thats a banded, if you have a band that only goes part way round and has patches of white over the rest of the body then that is a Broken.
But again wait to see what Mousebreeder has to say about it or someone else who knows their stuff on Genetics :D

·
Registered
58 Posts
You are absolutly right. If your boy was banded, you should have had 50% banded in the litter (in theory).