Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,817 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just realized that I never posted in this introduction section...

My mousery is Mousies 'r' Us, and I've been breeding fancy mice for about eleven years now. I stated with a few meeces, bought a few more, then bought about a dozen more...by then I had about 60 or 70 meeces, then my mousery expanded three fold when I found a petstore that was going out of business, and was going to euthanize a couple of hundred meeces instead of moving them. I took about 150 meeces along with all the equipment, and I've maintained a large mousery ever since. My first project was to breed champagne tans, next priority was to develop a healthy strain of stins mice. That was hard and took about three and half years until I found a satin buck in a feeder bin (good old Pudge-RIP). Next priority was to breed champagne tans in standard and satin.

The last couple of years I've been working with a strain of transgenic mousies that produce interesting coats. Some folks call them tris, not to be confused with tricolors, as my meeces have coats with several shades of the same pigment group. The first ones I got from a breeder in NYC were marked beige tris, with brown and black patches. Very nice looking. After a couple of years of playing around and producing a bunch of different types of tris I decided to see if the transgenic element would work on a line of A^vy yellow/fawn I've had for a few years. Not only did it work, but I now have marked red-eyed mousies with red/orange/yellow patches. It only took about a year and four generations to get results.

So far, I have really enjoyed the friendliness of this forum. I still post to the Petrodents Forum, but no one else seems to even be reading my posts. It's nice to be part of an active mouse breeding community.