Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! Im new to the mice keeping and breeding despite that I have had other little fury critters :) I work at a pet store in my college town. We are a reptile oriented store so therefore... Yes sadly we sell feeder mice. Once in a while we get in colored mice. Long story short I was picking a mouse for my pet ball python that I also have. He is a brown and white mouse with a perfect white spot right on top of his head and when i picked him up he was tame! Instantly I said no I cant feed you I have to keep you. Haha. Yes I have a pet snake and 4 pet mice now. Two males and two females. When I was younger I used to breed dwarf hamsters. I wanna try my hand at breeding some fury things again. But i need to know in any ones opinion what is the best food you can buy without making your own mix? Theres multiple kinds of kaytee.... Mazuri, Sunseed, Nutriphase, Carefresh,...... I need help. I have read a lot and all i get is more than 20% protein is good then I will read something that says less than 15% is better..... Whats right? I try to spoil my animals and I like researching nutrition. So whatever is best for my little mousers I would like to know. I realize when I do decide to breed one of my females that I can add a good quality puppy or kitten food to help with the milk. But whats the best for them and the males when they arnt breeding?

Opinions and Knowledge wanted please :D

Note Im from the U.S and to help I can post some of the major brands and links to the ingredients information.

1. *New Recently* Carefresh Complete for Mice and Rats - http://www.carefresh.com/products/pet-food/mice-and-rats/
2. Mazuri Rat and Mouse Diet - https://www.mazuri.com/PDF/5E09.pdf
3. Sunseed Vita Prima Rat, Mouse, and Gerbil http://www.petfooddirect.com/Product/8548/Sun-Seed-Vita-Prima-Rat,-Mouse-and-Gerbil-Formula-Food