Pet Mice Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is Mr. Jingles. I apologize for the poor quality of the pictures.

Bahaha, check out my crooked finger and random bruise on my arm.. :lol:

I'm not too good with genetics just yet - but here's what I can tell you.
I bred him to an albino mouse whose genetic background I know nothing about. The babies came out mostly brindled, while the rest appear to be silver agoutis with very small white hairs behind their ears. I would assume this means that under the albino, his mate was a brindle, which I thought was usually dominant. I thought white spotting was dominant over many colorations too, but clearly the brindling was dominant in this case.

What do you think? Banded or broken? Maybe both? :p

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
He is handsome :)
PEW Brindles are common. They dont show the stripes but they can still get obese,etc like marked brindles.
Looks banded, but since your in the USA, he could just be a broken with the right markings of a banded.
If you bred him and didnt have any banded, then he is probly broken

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh! So perhaps the mother of his children was actually PEW brindle instead of albino, you mean? Or do you mean Mr. Jingles? One of his relatives (likely a littermate) is actually a brindle, and she has become quite obese. I made a post about it just today, actually.

Mr. Jingle's eyes are actually a little bit odd in that they aren't entirely black - see how they seem to reflect a little bit of red? They actually aren't even reflecting (I don't think) since he looks like this in real life. :p None of his children have this going on - their eyes are all jet black. There were indeed no banded children, so it seems likely that he is indeed broken. Thanks! ;)

·
Registered
1,658 Posts
Mr. Jingles eyes look ruby.
Yes, the mom of the litter could be an unmarked PEW brindle.